Is there a way to run CopFilter in a Linux box?

This forum is for all copfilter support related questions in English.
Post Reply
Jeffrely
Posts: 1
Joined: 18 May 2012 07:19
Contact:

Is there a way to run CopFilter in a Linux box?

Post by Jeffrely » 18 May 2012 07:51

I have an old P3 866MHZ 512MB where I run IpCop. I am also running Advanced Proxy, URL Filter & CopFilter. RAM is a limitation, especially with the newer version(s) of Clamav (the motherboard will not support more than 512MB of RAM). I really like all the features that CopFilter offers. I don't want to beef up the Firewall unless I absolutely have to. Question for you folks, is there a way to run CopFilter outside IpCop? has anyone tried to mimic what CopFilter does through other open source packages (email scanner, http/ftp scanner, spam scanner) in a linux box outside IpCop?

FischerM
Site Admin
Posts: 544
Joined: 09 Dec 2009 19:24
Location: Rheinbach

Re: Is there a way to run CopFilter in a Linux box?

Post by FischerM » 18 May 2012 10:38

Hi!
Jeffrely wrote:...is there a way to run CopFilter outside IpCop?
Sorry, but definitely NO - Copfilter is an addon for IPCop and never meant to run alone...
Jeffrely wrote:...the motherboard will not support more than 512MB of RAM
P3/866 would be enough, but you need at least 1GB RAM to run Copfilter. What motherboard is it?

HTH
Matthias

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Is there a way to run CopFilter in a Linux box?

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 18 May 2012 12:12

Hi,

copy and paste of a previous topic ? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=267

Same answer...For the RAM limitation, the solution is, to deactivate the third-party sigs, and Razor, DCC, DNSBL on your system...


EDIT
...and to use Clamav in socket scanner: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=287

Regards

Post Reply