ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

This forum is for all copfilter version 2 support related questions in English. (IPCop version 2)
moshari_3
Posts: 152
Joined: 07 Apr 2010 03:43
Location: Australia

ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by moshari_3 »

Hi guys,

Sorry if this has been asked before.

We have 5 family members using different email hosts, some send on port 25 & some on 587.
So is it possible to set ProxSMTP to scan on more than 1 internal port?
I was thinking something like 25; 587 as the setting.
But using this stops SMTP scanning any outgoing email.

Any thoughts?

Regards Moshari.

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by ShelbyGT500 »

Hi Moshari,

This should answer to your request ;) : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=195#p410

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

moshari_3
Posts: 152
Joined: 07 Apr 2010 03:43
Location: Australia

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by moshari_3 »

Hi Shelby,

Thanks for the reply & sorry for the delay getting back.
I tried running this but it doesn't seem to allow ProxSMTP to scan both ports 25 & 587.

The GUI entry only shows port 25 & tests confirm that it's only scanning port 25 when sending mail.
IE No ProxSMTP disclaimer on emails sent using port 587.

The install showed the followng so I did a restart ProxSMTP after my first test failed with no difference.
root@ip-cop:~/proxsmtp_portchange # ./install
Not activated ... no stop required ...
Changin proxsmtp port for you!
Not activated ... no start required ...
done!
I'm using IPCop Ver 2.0.4 & CopFilter Ver 2.0.91beta3 with ProxSMTP ver 1.8 on the system I'm testing on.

Any further thoughts or suggestions greatly appreciated.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by ShelbyGT500 »

Hi Moshari,

See the last post of this topic: viewtopic.php?p=2184#p2183

It seems necessary to have a chain SCAN_SMTP_PREROUTING, target REDIRECT with rules for both ports
Sorry, i only use port 25 and can't test.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

moshari_3
Posts: 152
Joined: 07 Apr 2010 03:43
Location: Australia

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by moshari_3 »

Hi again Shelby,

I'm a little lost.
I get the following when I run "iptables -t nat -L" I'll only show what I think is relevant.
Chain PREROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
CUSTOMPREROUTING all -- anywhere anywhere
NTP all -- anywhere anywhere
SQUID all -- anywhere anywhere
PORTFW all -- anywhere anywhere
SCAN_POP3_PREROUTING all -- anywhere anywhere
SCAN_SMTP_PREROUTING all -- anywhere anywhere
then further down I get
Chain SCAN_SMTP_PREROUTING (1 references)
target prot opt source destination

Chain SQUID (1 references)
I'm not sure what I should have gotten???
There is nothing displayed despite (1 references)

I have not been able to find the "copfilter_proxsmtp" script mentioned in the referred post.
Am I going down the wrong path?

Regards,

Moshari.

karesmakro
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Dec 2009 21:17

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by karesmakro »

Hello moshari,

if I find the time next evenings, I would prepare an init script for you.

regards

moshari_3
Posts: 152
Joined: 07 Apr 2010 03:43
Location: Australia

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by moshari_3 »

Thank you Kare. :)

I know how busy you are these days.

I really appreciate it.

If someone is happy to explain, though, I would be glad to know how to do this for myself.

Regards.

karesmakro
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Dec 2009 21:17

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by karesmakro »

Hello moshari_3,

here is, for what you are waiting for:
https://www.it-connect-unix.de/copfilte ... 2ports.tgz
md5sum: cbbb1845f9882d622543be4af8d06343

stop the proxsmtpd service, extract it and copy the file copfilter_proxsmtpd to

Code: Select all

/var/log/copfilter/default/opt/proxsmtp/etc/init.d
and the copfilter_smtp.cgi file to

Code: Select all

/home/httpd/cgi-bin
regards

moshari_3
Posts: 152
Joined: 07 Apr 2010 03:43
Location: Australia

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by moshari_3 »

Hi Kare,

Thanks for the files.

Unfortunately the cgi page is generating a internal server error when I select CopFilter > SMTP Filter from the menu.
Also ProxSMTP is not scanning either port anymore.

So I have restored both files & for now is working on port 25.

I first tried with 2.0.91beta3 & when that didn't work removed the mod & upgraded to 2.0.91beta4 then tried again with the same result.

Regards.

karesmakro
Site Admin
Posts: 1280
Joined: 09 Dec 2009 21:17

Re: ProxSMTP on more than 1 port

Post by karesmakro »

Can you please provide me your httpd_error.log?
Tested again on my machines and no errors so far

Post Reply