Cant access copfilters settings

This forum is for all copfilter version 2 support related questions in English. (IPCop version 2)
Bardock
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2015 18:47
Location: Greece

Cant access copfilters settings

Post by Bardock » 02 Jul 2015 17:15

As you know i am new at copfilter. Last night i installed it and was looking it , after the installetion i cant access in most of sites and i got this message in ipcops home page :illigal division by zero at /home/httpd/cgi-bin/index.cgi line 160.
i tried to reset the settings by restarting all services but is doing nothing, im letting it about an hour but no changes, after a wile is blocking me from ipcops gui and after some minutes i can access again . my green network has internet but cant connect to most sites , only facebook and google i can connect and not on the links of them.For example i can connect to google.com but i cant connect to the resolt link whatevery is this link. I dont have settings that i want to save , i could unistall and reinstall it but i dont know how and also i dont want to reinstall from the beging the ipcop coz i want to know what is the problem so that i can solve it in the future.Thank you again !

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 02 Jul 2015 17:41

Hi,

Which version of Copfilter did you install ?

Please enable transparent proxy in Ipcop-Proxy settings GUI , and in Copfilter-HAVP and Copfilter C-ICAP GUI if you are using them.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

Bardock
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2015 18:47
Location: Greece

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by Bardock » 02 Jul 2015 21:24

Its the copfilter-2.1.93beta1 , it was all good with installetion. I have tried what you told me but whatever setting im tring to change it fails to load the changes. It stays at the restarting step, for whatever change im givint to it.
https://imageshack.us/i/pau6UCU2j

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 02 Jul 2015 22:15

Hi,

OK. It seems the installation is not right.
Please uninstall Copfilter:

Code: Select all

/var/log/copfilter/default/setup_util -u

and then reinstall it.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

Bardock
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2015 18:47
Location: Greece

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by Bardock » 03 Jul 2015 01:55

Ive done it and it worked ! but in all the tutorials as i see when copfilter is installed all the copfilters addons are on and running , im trying to activate monitoring and im getting this error :
Restarting monit..
mo:2345:respawn:/var/log/copfilter/default/opt/monit/default/bin/monit -I -c /var/log/copfilter/default/opt/monit/etc/monitrc monit is not running
monit STOPPED

Starting monit
FAILED

Do you have any fresher tutorial or is user problem ?

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 03 Jul 2015 10:44

Hi,
Bardock wrote:Ive done it and it worked !
Glad to hear! ;)

You need to enable first each module individually, and choose its settings, and only at the end of this enable monit.
Please read this document: http://www.copfilter.org/README.pdf It was for previous version, but in fact there is no essential changes in information since it.
And see this for more information: http://www.copfilter.org/wiki/doku.php? ... irst_setup for first settings.

Monit is only a module to monit each daemon, restart it if necessary, and send you mail if there is an error in a processus.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

Bardock
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2015 18:47
Location: Greece

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by Bardock » 04 Jul 2015 20:38

Im trying to do the steps from wiki and from read me file but i have so many difrent resolts compared to tutorial.

Restarting havp..
havp is not running
Not enabling fprot scanning in havp
!! No Virus Scanner enabled and/or running !! Not Starting HAVP !!
Restarting privoxy..
privoxy is not running
havp, or c-icap not running, exiting privoxy is not running

Restarting monit..
mo:2345:respawn:/var/log/copfilter/default/opt/monit/default/bin/monit -I -c /var/log/copfilter/default/opt/monit/etc/monitrc monit is not running
monit STOPPED

Starting monit
FAILED

For excample this is one. Im sorry for my dump wuestions but im hobbiest and not a programmer :)
I also think that i didnt setted up correctly the email settings:
On email address i puted my email , on SMTP server i putted https://www.live.com (my email is hotmail) , Sender address my email (tha same ), Send update mail notification is on , SMTP-AUTH enabled is on ,
SMTP-AUTH user and SMTP-AUTH password i placed my email (the same as first ) and the login pass of my email , Secure-SMTP-Authentification (sslv3, tlsv1) is off.

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 04 Jul 2015 21:01

Hi,
Bardock wrote:!! No Virus Scanner enabled and/or running !! Not Starting HAVP !!
You have two essential component to use with other:
- clamav, wich is used if you enable it, to filter for viruses : web http traffic with HAVP OR C-ICAP, and mail with p3scan (pop3 filter for incoming mail) and/or ProxSmtp (smtp filter for outgoing mail)
- spamassassin, wich is used for mail filering, with P3scan and/or ProxSmtp.

So, you need to enable clamav (virus GUI) first if you want to use HAVP.
You can not use HAVP AND C-ICAP together for filtering Viruses, you need to choose (I think you should use only HAVP for your first settings and tests, you will see later for C-ICAP).
Please use for you first tests HAVP with transparent proxy enabled.
Havp or c-icap need to be enabled to use Privoxy.

For the same reason, you need to enable first spamassassin if you want to filter spam with P3scan or ProxSmtp.

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

EDIT:
Ah, you added new lines:
Bardock wrote:I also think that i didnt setted up correctly the email settings:
On email address i puted my email , on SMTP server i putted https://www.live.com (my email is hotmail) , Sender address my email (tha same ), Send update mail notification is on , SMTP-AUTH enabled is on ,
SMTP-AUTH user and SMTP-AUTH password i placed my email (the same as first ) and the login pass of my email , Secure-SMTP-Authentification (sslv3, tlsv1) is off.
For email-settings, you need to add the settings you are using with a mail client (outlook, thunderbird,..).
That is to say, you need to use a SMTP server with for example something like this: smtp.live.com
The sender adress is something like this : YOUR_NAME@hotmail.gr (or YOUR_NAME@live.com, according your adress)
SMTP-AUTH user is something like this : YOUR_NAME@hotmail.gr (or YOUR_NAME@live.com, according your adress)
SMTP-AUTH password : Your password you're using with your hotmail acount
Secure-SMTP-Authentification (sslv3, tlsv1) is usually off
:D

Bardock
Posts: 17
Joined: 24 Jun 2015 18:47
Location: Greece

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by Bardock » 06 Jul 2015 17:11

I am not sure but do i have to install privoxy and if yes do you have any good guide and also do i have to install it ( if yes ) in all my machines ?

ShelbyGT500
Posts: 846
Joined: 13 May 2010 22:37
Location: FRANCE

Re: Cant access copfilters settings

Post by ShelbyGT500 » 06 Jul 2015 22:37

Hi,
Bardock wrote:I am not sure but do i have to install privoxy and if yes do you have any good guide and also do i have to install it ( if yes ) in all my machines ?
Mmmm.... :D
As i said, Privoxy is installed. You only have to enable in the HAVP or C-ICAP GU , according you are using HAVP or C-ICAP. So, you must not install it on your PC.

Here is the user manual : http://www.privoxy.org/user-manual/
For your first test, you only have to enable it, the default settings are Ok for curent use.

(I just saw it can not be reached with the privoxy GUI, there is an internal error with the GUI. For advanced user, i just added a solution to fix it in the bugtracker: http://www.copfilter.org/bugtracker/view.php?id=144)
EDIT: If you can't access bugtracker, here is the solution:
Replace in /var/log/copfilter/default/opt/privoxy/etc/config file,
the value:
user-manual /var/log/copfilter/default/opt/privoxy/3.0.19/share/doc/privoxy/user-manual/
with
user-manual /var/log/copfilter/default/opt/privoxy/3.0.23/share/doc/privoxy/user-manual/


Are your first test all right with Http and mail filtering?

Regards.

ShelbyGT500

Post Reply